College of Theology

Housed at Mercer University, this collection includes the archives of the American Baptist Churches of America (formerly Northern Baptist Convention) and documents related to the modern missionary movement, African-American churches, women's ministry, and the social gospel.

Housed at Ouachita Baptist University, this collection holds the records of the Arkansas Baptist State Convention, Arkansas church records, and other Baptist publications.

Collection includes items related to the works of the authors, a rare e-book collection that can be downloaded, an indexed topics and other accessible commentaries.

Located within the Library of Congress, their collection includes documents relating to Southern Baptists, Maryland Baptists, Delaware Baptists, and Baptist missionary history.

Located at Bethel University, the Center houses documents relating to the history of Swedish Baptists, the Baptist General Conference, and Bethel University.

Founded in 1933, the Baptist Texas Collection of the Baptist General Convention of Texas houses materials relating to the history of Texas Baptists.

An online listing of significant online Baptist history resources and digital collections maintained by the Association of Librarians and Archivists at Baptist Institutions (ALABI). This list is not exhaustive, but it is a good place to start if you are new to Baptist research online.

This collection houses documents relating to Annapolis Valley of Novia Scotia and serves as the archive for Arcadia University and the Convention of Atlantic Baptist Churches.

This collection is maintained by Baylor University. The sermons issued by Word Records in the 1960s are not yet transcribed but are available as audio recordings. Sermons from the Texas Collection, which were recorded from the pulpit in the early 1940s, are transcribed and the audio is available, as well.

The Baptist Archives at Carson-Newman College contain documents relating to the history of Tennessee Baptists, which includes church and associational records, collections from various missionaries, and minsters' and laymen's papers, diaries, letters, and sermons.

A collection maintained by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Primary sources include materials related to African American Baptist history. This collection extends far beyond Baptist history.

The collection houses books, booklets, sermons, letters, and associational minutes relating to Florida Baptists. A sampling of the collection is available online.

Collection preserves items related to the history of Baptists in Georgia. Includes documents related to Baptist churches, associations, and agencies of the Georgia Baptist Convention. Highlights of the collection are Civil War letters, Financial Reports, and Issues of the Christian Index.

Housed at Mercer Library, this collection includes items related to the history of Mercer University and Baptists in Georgia.

Archives and records from the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention. Includes Lottie Moon correspondence, African American heritage archives, periodicals of the Foreign Mission Board from 1845-1970, as well as minutes from the Foreign Mission Board meetings from 1845-1979.

Collection includes annuals, associational minutes, historical books, and other items related to the history of Baptists in Louisiana.

Mercer University provides access to resources documenting the history of Mercer University and Baptists in Georgia. Researchers studying Baptist history will be particularly interested in the Special Collections and University Archives sub-community of their institutional repository which provides access to archival resources documenting the history of Baptist higher education at Mercer, Baptists during the Civil War, and the personal papers of Georgia Baptists.

Collection includes original church minutes and documents relating to Mississippi Baptist churches and associations. Highlights include The Baptist Record, oral histories, photographs, and biographical information on Mississippi Baptist preachers.

Provides resources to help Missouri Baptist Churches preserve their history.

Contains items related to the history of German Baptists in America. Highlights include items related to Cameroon Mission History, Baptist Missionary Society of Germany, and Baptist Missionary Society of Britain.

Housed at Wake Forest University, this collection includes items related to Southern, Missionary, Primitive, African-American, Union, and Alliance of Baptist churches in North Carolina. Highlights include a complete print set of the Biblical Recorder since its start in 1833, more than 1,000 bibliographical folders on North Carolina Baptist pastors, and the archives of the Women's Missionary Union of North Carolina.

An on-going project of The Reformed Reader is to present authors of Baptist and Reformed books, miscellaneous works and on-line biographies.

The Religion in North Carolina Digital Collection is a collaborative, grant-funded digital collection featuring resources from the University of North Carolina, Duke University, Wake Forest University, and smaller contributors, including SEBTS. This collection contains a wide variety of resources broadly documenting religion in North Carolina.

Housed at Furman University, collection includes items related to Baptist churches and associations in South Carolina. Highlights include newsletters, hymns, sermons, and online introduction to some of the sources available.

The Archives at Southeastern developed this digital repository in 2019 to provide access to over 20,000 unique items from the archives. Collections in this repository include institutional records, Baptist materials (including Primitive Baptist records), and other organizational and personal paper collections.

Contains online access to SBC annuals and Baptist Press Releases (1948-1996). Also contains links to various Baptist websites.

Collection includes items related to the history of the seminary, a rare book collection of texts dated before 1820, the Haldeman Bible Collection, the Baptist Minutes Collection, and the Billy Graham Collection.

The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Digital Archive includes digitized chapel addresses delivered at the seminary and other digital resources associated with notable Baptists associated with the seminary including B.H. Carroll, L.R. Scarborough, George Truett, and Paige Patterson.

Houses archives of primary and secondary sources, with an emphasis on Baptist history in Virginia. Contains bookstore, Baptist web links, and an academic journal available for purchase.

Wake Forest University provides online access to a wealth of digitized resources from their holdings documenting the history of Baptists in North Carolina. Resources of particular note for Baptist history researchers include the Biblical Recorder newspaper (1834-1970), Biographical Files documenting the history of Baptist communities in North Carolina, and selected North Carolina Baptist church records.

Journal of the American Baptist Historical Society, the oldest Baptist historical society in the United States. Journal began under the title Foundations in 1958. The journal was relaunched in 1982 under the current title.

Journal of the Baptist History and Heritage Society, published three times yearly. Journal began in 1965. Entire journal is available online through ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials.

The Baptist Historical Society started this journal in 1922 as a successor to the Transactions of the Baptist Historical Society (TBHS). All seven volumes of TBHS and volumes 1-45 of BQ are available online.

To make high quality theological material available freely throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries.

The 21st-century church and its leaders face an array of theological, exegetical, and missional concerns. For the past twenty years, the Detroit Baptist Seminary Journal has addressed those concerns through original research and writing in a number of fields.

Started in 2000 by the International Baptist Theological Seminary, the journal focuses on European Baptists, publishing articles on biblical, theological, missiological and historical studies.

The Midwestern Journal of Theology is a scholarly journal written to assist Christians and churches in making disciples throughout the world. Published twice a year, each issue includes theological and exegetical articles, inspirational sermons, and reviews of important books.
The Journal of Theology is available free online for digital download or for purchase at the Sword & Trowel bookstore

A quarterly Baptist theological journal.

The Southern Baptist Journal of Theology is published three times a year by Southern's School of Theology and features articles by the faculty of southern seminary as well as leading evangelical scholars from around the world.

The oldest theological journal continually published by a Southern Baptist seminary.