BAHANDIAN Repository Guide: Policy

Overview

• Background 

The impetus for the development of Central Philippine University institutional repository (IR) was the shift to online platforms brought about by the pandemic. Also, as a result of growing need to promote visibility and the scholarly digital footprints of the academic community are some of the main reasons for its development. The project was started in November 2020. The IR was materialized by having a team of four librarians with the intrepid support of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and the University President. With technical support from SEAFDEC AQD Library Consultants and the College of Computer Studies, the CPU IR was officially launched in  February 2021. CPU IR is officially named Bahándìan. 

Bahándìan, the institutional repository of the Central Philippine University for the management, dissemination, and preservation of digital materials that represent the scholarly work production of the academic community and its affiliates and their faculty members, staff, and students in higher education.

Bahándìan is a university repository providing access to the publication output of the Central Philippine University and its affiliates. Access is generally unrestricted, in compliance with the Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol for metadata harvesting, which makes such archives interoperable and cross-searchable. Bahándìan is an Ilonggo term for a treasure chest (Uy-Griño, 2005). This institutional repository symbolizes a trove of valuable scholarly works of the institution. This digital repository is established to provide open, online access to the University's research and scholarship, to preserve these works for future generations, to promote new models of scholarly communication, and to help deepen community understanding of the value of higher education.

• Administration of the System

The University Library is tasked with the management and maintenance of the Repository. While functional and administrative policies may be decided by the Henry Luce III Library, higher-level decisions with wider scope and impact may be decided by the Office of the Vice President (for Academic Affairs).

Authority

Bahándìan is an initiative of the Henry Luce III Library (HLL). As HLL is research and academic arm of the university providing access to academic resources for teaching, learning and research, scholarly works of the 

Definition of Terms

• Affiliates - refers to the international partner institutions of the university
• Collaborative researches - refers to researches done by a bona fide member of Central Philippine University or the institution itself,  in collaboration with other researches
• Corporate Author - refers to the specific department or unit and must add “Central Philippine University”
• Institutional researches - scholarly work produced by the university which include unpublished materials, proceedings, reports, and other ancillary materials.
• Postgraduate researches - researches done beyond Master's theses or doctoral dissertations beyond the undergraduate level e.g. Juris Doctor
• "Work" means the copyrightable work of authorship offered under the terms of this License.

Collection Development Statement
Materials in the IR reflect the growth and development of the University. It is mainly based on the Collection Development Policy of HLL.

Who may submit

• University faculty, researchers, staff, and graduate students may submit digital content to Bahandian. Undergraduate works may be accepted upon endorsement by a faculty member, academic program coordinator, or Dean of the College.
• Materials to be included include:
• Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs) - from degree-granting academic units of the University
• Institutional Researches
• Publications published by CPU Units/Offices/Faculty Publications in local and international journals
  • Special and regular publications, including flyers and brochures of CPU Units / Offices
  • Academic Community Publications in local and international journals
• Personal Papers of CPU Faculty, Executives, Officials and Alumni with significant contributions to their discipline but are not considered confidential

Submitters, whether in print or online, must explicitly put in writing any of the following conditions:
a. The work/s patentable or registrable invention or creation
b. The author wishes to publish the work personally
c. There are confidential information of a third-party is embedded

Otherwise, all works submitted within one (1) year will be considered to have  no patentable invention or creation, the author does not wish for personal publication, there is no confidential information.

Acquisition Statement
Bahandian acquires content in conformance with the University Library collection development policy. Acquisitions may be through direct submission, harvesting, transfer, donation, gift, bequest, licensing agreement, or purchase.
 
Access Policy

• Statement on Access
  All materials submitted to Bahándìan are made available in support of education, research and extension.  CPU IR will only accept submissions with restrictions as per dictated by governing policies of the University.
•  Individual Privacy
  The University does not collect nor divulge personal information and respects the privacy of all authors and submissions to the IR.
  Contributors are advised not to provide in the document sensitive personal or private information in their submissions. Inadvertent negligent to do so will not hold the Administrators liable for information posted in public.
• Restriction of Content
  The administrators reserve the right to restrict access to items or collections, specifically only to those where noted. Otherwise, materials submitted to the IR are accessible and open access. 
• All theses and dissertations that a) has patentable or registrable creation, b) submitted for journal publication or c) confidential information of a third-party is embedded are automatically closed to the general public for one (1) year. Access to theses and dissertations classified as such shall be withheld from the general public. The author or the adviser has the responsibility to submit such request to the HLL or the Administrator/s of Bahandian.
• If the requesting party is a student, staff, researcher, or faculty of the University, a signed Repository form shall be submitted to the Library where access to the thesis/dissertation is being requested to be restricted. It must be noted that for purposes of tracking scholarly works, the abstract of the works will still be available unless there are compelling reasons to prohibit the same.
• Immediately after the lapse of the restriction period, Bahandian may allow public access to the theses and dissertations and the University may then exercise its right under the royalty-free, non-exclusive license granted to publish theses and dissertations as long as it is for educational or research purposes.
• If the requesting party affected by the submission is not any of the above mentioned persons, i.e. not connected to the University, the following documents shall be submitted to the Library or the College/Unit where access to the thesis/dissertation is being requested:
  • A Non-Disclosure Undertaking signed and notarized by the requesting party; and
  • A written permission from the author or the adviser. If neither can be contacted or reached, a written permission from the Office of the Academic Affairs is also needed

 
Intellectual Property Policy

Bahándìan subscribes and upholds the governing Intellectual Property laws of the Philippines, of the University, the Belmont Report,  and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Copyright/Intellectual Property of submissions to remain with the creators, unless otherwise stated.
 
Roles and Responsibilities

• Scanner. Only Library personne duly authorized to scan materials in the Library will be involved in scanning of the materials available at Henry Luce III Library. Scanners may or may take the role of editing using the OCR. All materials submitted must go through this process.
• Contributor / Submitter. Students, Faculty Members, Staff, Alumni, Academic/Non-Academic Units may contribute content to the IR, provided that their contributions meet the criteria set forth in the Collection Development Policy of the University Library. It is the contributor’s responsibility to ensure that the uploaded material complies with the metada requirements. For questions, contact bahandian@cpu.edu.ph
• Metadata Creator. This is a special task for those who have indepth knowledge and experiencing in indexing or assigning subject headings.
• Approver. This is done by the administrators and those who have good editing, proof-reading and indexing skills. The approver is the final stage and is responsible that all aspects of the work are done based on the criteria.

Licensing Statement
The copyright holder of any work submitted to CPU IR retains copyright to the work. Submissions impose no restrictions on the future use of the work. However, it is a good idea to be explicit about what others can and cannot do with your work by applying a license to it. 

Commercial Use of Works
Requests for commercial use of submitted works are subject to existing laws and policies and must be obtained from the University prior to commercial application and reproduction.
 
Security Statement
The University Library employs applicable technology and security measures to protect the content and privacy of contributors. Legal action will be taken by the University for any entity who shall illegally obtain and/or use information and content from the repository.
 
Citation/Linking Policy
Citation and linking of any material are permissible and are the sole responsibility of the user. It is recommended that the user follow existing and appropriate citation and linking standards. The University Library ensures that all materials in the repository will be given permanent links or URLs for continued access.
 
Liability Policy
The University reserves the right to restrict or remove access to submissions that violate existing University policies or laws. The University disclaims any responsibility for the improper/illegal use of submissions nor from any damage incurred from such as is permissible by law.

Submission Policy
Submissions must comply with requirements and procedures dictated by the IR, unless otherwise waived by appropriate authorities within the University. HLL does not accept short term deposit of materials or content.

Full text of works submitted before 2021 will not be shared unless a copyright agreement signed by the author/s and the University is available. Scholarly works created in 1970 and will be provided as governed by the Intellectual Property Code of the Philippines related to Sec. 185.2 of the said code.

In cases where scholarly works are externally funded with specific clauses explicitly providing that raw data cannot be shared with the public, the research output will not be made available by the CPU IR.
 
Contributor Policy
CPU IR accepts submissions from students, staff, faculty,  alumni, and affiliate institutions of the University. In addition, academic and administrative units of the University are encouraged to submit for easy retrieval and digital preservation of materials.
 
Embargoes
Only the metadata of works will be accepted for materials under embargo. Contributors/Content creators/Authors are responsible for the renewal of the embargo; after the period has lapsed, restricted submissions will then be made available freely.
 
Take-Down Policy
CPU IRC reserves the right to remove submissions and materials in the repository subject to proper procedures. Moreover, requests for removal of materials must be submitted to the University Library following proper procedures and will be acted upon on a case to case basis.
 
Preservation Policy
The University Library, as the key implementing and administering office and is committed to, and is responsible for, the planning, maintenance, management, and long-term preservation of all digital materials submitted to the IR.  As such, the Library uses and accepts international standards in the preservation of its digital resources, and the use of reliable hardware and software to accomplish this mission.
 
Privacy Policy
The University Library is committed to protecting the privacy of the users and authors/content providers. It strictly adheres to Republic Act 10912 (Data Privacy Act of 2012) and applies the same provisions and restrictions provided in the policies of the university and pertinent statutes.
 
Succession Policy
In the event that the University Library ceases to exist, all content in the CPU IR will remain with the University in perpetua.
 
Documentation and Amendment Statement
This policy is considered a permanent record and subsequent amendments and updates should be noted accordingly. Superseded versions must be deposited to CPU IR. This policy will be reviewed every five years or as the need arises. Failure to take action by the governing committee to amend during the five-year period is a presumption that the existing policy continues to take effect.

Effectivity
This policy shall take effect immediately upon approval of the __________

Signed:


Related Policy Information

Collection Development Policy

Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities

Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights 

Belmont Report Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research