Henry Luce III Library LibGuides: College of Business and Accountancy: E-Books

What is Open Access?

Open access (OA) refers to digital content that is available free of charge for everyone. Originally associated only with scholarly journals that published free online, the concept has been extended to other types of content such as eBooks and media. In some cases OA content may also be free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.

Open Access Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources.
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
UN Data
A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library is an aggregation of peer-reviewed, open access, scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform.
Cambridge Open Access
Cambridge OA serves authors and the wider community by publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed OA content that allows readers to redistribute, re-use and adapt the content in new works.
ASEAN Digital Library
A regional project to aggregate and connect the digitized resources of National Libraries in the ASEAN region so that these repositories can be accessed through a single search facility.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Digital Science Dimensions
A next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.

E-Books & E-Resources

Bookboon.com - Economics
Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed. These books cannot be altered, but can be freely printed, shared, or embedded in non-commercial ways. They are intended only for individuals, colleges, and schools.
Books at JSTOR
7,000+ Open Access ebooks are freely available: These titles are available on JSTOR at no cost to libraries or researchers.
College Open Textbooks - Business
College Open Textbooks is the initiative of a number of organizations who have made it their goal to provide free, open source textbooks online for students.
Digital Book Index
Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.
The Economics Network - Teaching & Learning
From the University of Bristol, this is one of the world's leading economics education sites, with more than 6000 documents downloaded by human users each day.
Google Books
You can search and preview millions of books in Google Books. To find free full-text Google books: Select "Search Tools." Under "Any books" choose, Free Google eBooks. NOTE: Free Google books will mostly include books published before 1923.
Hathi Trust
Repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. Only public domain works will be full-text searchable.
HippoCampus.org - Economics
Hippocampus offers educators a wide variety of multimedia content online, including videos, animations, and simulations. An additional feature offers educators the ability to create "playlists" for their students, which correlate specifically to their particular instruction material.
InTech Business, Management, and Economics Books
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
Internet Archive
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 281 billion archived web pages.
MIT Open Courseware - Accounting, Business, Economics
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Open Access Business Case Studies
From the Ryerson University Library & Archives.
Open Education Consortium - Accounting and Finance
The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER (Open Educational Resources). OER are openly licensed online educational materials that allow teachers and students to freely use, share, and modify.
Open Education Consortium - Business
The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER (Open Educational Resources). OER are openly licensed online educational materials that allow teachers and students to freely use, share, and modify.
Open Learn - Accounting and Finance
Open Learn is an initiative of The Open University, UK. It provides supplemental materials for educators, including articles, podcasts, videos, games, and much more. In addition, it offers more than 700 free online classes.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. One web page for every book ever published. It's a lofty but achievable goal.
Open Textbook Library - Business, Management & Marketing
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Open Textbooks
Open Textbooks are freely available online and licensed for redistribution. Some open textbooks are also licensed for editing and modification. For more information about Virginia Tech Libraries' Open Education Initiative, see our OER Guide or contact Anita Walz.
PDF SEARCH ENGINE
Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.
Saylor Academy - Business
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit organization that offers nearly 100 full-length, free and open courses at the college and professional levels.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. We offer nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, each of which is available right now — at your pace, on your schedule, and free of cost.