Henry Luce III Library LibGuides: College of Business and Accountancy: Theses & Dissertations

What is Open Access?

Open access (OA) refers to digital content that is available free of charge for everyone. Originally associated only with scholarly journals that published free online, the concept has been extended to other types of content such as eBooks and media. In some cases OA content may also be free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.

Free software: Citation Management

Here are some free software to make citation convenient. Bibliographies and reference lists can be automatically generated. Click on the links to their website to download and learn more.

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Mendeley can generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers.

Open Access Theses & Dissertations Websites

Digital Collections @ Dordt
Digital Collections @ Dordt preserves and promotes the scholarly and creative efforts of the Dordt University community. Content in the Digital Commons includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt University. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.
Dissertation Reviews
Since 2010, Dissertation Reviews has featured more than 1000 overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
EBSCO Open Dissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,898,824 theses and dissertations.
PQDT Open
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations & Theses will remain freely available as part of a new and enhanced ProQuest search experience.

Open Access Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources.
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
UN Data
A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library is an aggregation of peer-reviewed, open access, scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform.
Cambridge Open Access
Cambridge OA serves authors and the wider community by publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed OA content that allows readers to redistribute, re-use and adapt the content in new works.
ASEAN Digital Library
A regional project to aggregate and connect the digitized resources of National Libraries in the ASEAN region so that these repositories can be accessed through a single search facility.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Digital Science Dimensions
A next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.