Henry Luce III Library LibGuides: Library Newsletter: 2023

Monthly Newsletter

July 2023
February 2023

NEW Online Resource: WILEY eBooks

The library is pleased to announce the addition of Wiley Online Library to its collection of online resources. Wiley Online Library is a comprehensive collection of scholarly journals, books, and reference works from Wiley, a leading academic publisher.

Through the Albasa Consortium, the Library has access to more than 500 eBooks on various subjects such as Engineering, Computer Studies, Medicine, Agriculture, Social Sciences, Philosophy, and Technology.

How to access the eBooks:

Visit this link: https://olabout.wiley.com/WileyCDA/Section/id-832372.html
On the list of books, select Tranche 2 to see the list of books available for CPU. You may browse by subject and title.
Click on the title to access or download. Click on Log in to access. Once logged in, you will be able to download the full book. Kindly send us a message for the username and password (access is exclusive to CPU faculty and students).

For a complete list of online resources available for CPU, visit our website.

Library News & Events

▪️ The Library conducted a recognition program for graduating Library Student Assistants last June 22, 2023.

▪️ July 4, 2023 - American Corner Iloilo and Henry Luce III Library joined the 4th of July Celebration of American Spaces Philippines. Prof. Sharlene Gotico shared her experiences as a Fulbright scholar in the United States to students.
▪️ The Library congratulates Jennifer Bode, RL, MLIS, our Acquisitions Librarian, for graduating her Masters in Library and Information Studies from the School of Graduate Studies.
▪️ The Library welcomes Rona Mae Soriano, our new librarian assigned for Cataloging in the Technical Services. She was a graduate of Bachelor of Library and Information Science (CPU Batch 2019). She also worked as a student assistant in the library during her college days.

New CPU Publications: Books

We are CPU: Our reasons for being by Francis Neil G. Jalando-on, MDiv, Rea Angelica F. Villeza, MDiv, & Ananias C. Sabijon, Jr., PhD
ISBN: 9786218210219
Publication Date: 2023
We are CPU: Our Reasons for Being is the Centralians' collective declaration of commitment, pride, and great love for dear Central. The book publishes CPU's official philosophy, history, VMGO, quality policy, core values, and other "reasons for being" that the University upholds and considers invaluable and irreplaceable in its successful overall operation as an autonomous institution of teaching and learning.

Note: Only the preliminary pages are available on Bahandian. The book is currently for sale at the CPU Enterprise. The book will also be available in the library soon.

New Research publications available online

Why are Filipino academic librarians reluctant to do research? Investigating the realities by Dr. Irving Domingo L. Rio and Allana S. Delgado
Publication Date: June 2023
Paper published in the Journal of Library & Information Studies, National Taiwan University, June 2023

This study attempts to describe the lived experiences of librarians focusing on the angle that limits them to conduct research. Interviews were conducted online with 7 academic librarians from 3 private universities in Iloilo City.
Central Philippine University Multidisciplinary Research Journal: Special Edition from School of College of Business and Accountancy, Volume 2(1), December 2022 by Central Philippine University
Publication Date: December 2022
This issue includes nine research articles by College of Business and Accountancy students and faculty. Papers on business practices during the COVID-19 pandemic, the shift to online education, entrepreneurship, and finance are included.

Recently Digitized (available for FREE Download)

Southeast Asia Quarterly Volume 1(1), July 1966 by Central Philippine University
Publication Date: July 1966
The Southeast Asia Quarterly was a journal published by the University Research Center in 1966. This issue includes:

▪️ Article by renowned Filipino anthropologist F. Landa Jocano, “Variation in Philippine values: A Western Bisayan case-study”
▪️ “No surrender” from the papers of the late Tomas V. Confesor, Governor, Panay and Romblon, Civil Resistance (from the CPU collection of World War II documents)
▪️ “The CPU collection of World War II documents” by Jose Balagot describes how the University acquired World War II documents, now housed in the Special Collections of the Library
Engineering Journal, Volume 4(1), July 2001 by College of Engineering
Publication Date: July 2001
The CPU Engineering Journal was published annually by the College of Engineering. The Journal was a report of the results of completed research of the Engineering faculty, alumni and other extension units of the College.

Contact us

Chat BERTHA: m.me/cpulibrary
E-mail: berthahll@cpu.edu.ph
Contact our Librarians: HLL Library Directory

Website: library.cpu.edu.ph
Research repository: repository.cpu.edu.ph
Online Catalog: destiny.cpu.edu.ph

Social Media
Follow us for news and updates about the library
Facebook | Instagram | YouTube Channel

For feedback, comments, and suggestions on this e-mail newsletter, kindly contact the librarian in-charge:

Librarian

Allana S. Delgado

She/They

Email Me

Contact:

BAHANDIAN Corner
3rd floor, Henry Luce III Library

loc 1020

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Library Newsletter: 2023

About the Library Newsletter

Monthly Newsletter

Contact us

Librarian