Henry Luce III Library LibGuides: College of Education: OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

What is OER?

Finding Books

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
Free and Open eTextbooks
Open textbooks are typically authored by faculty and published on the web with the support of universities or new commercial companies.
IntechOpen
The world's leading publisher of Open Access books, also the world's first Open Access book publisher.
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT), (Filtered in Education Collection)
Started back in 1997 at Sonoma State University. It is a community of staff, volunteers, and members who work together in various ways to provide users of OER (Open Educational Resource) teaching and learning materials with a wealth of services and functions that can enhance their instructional experience.
Open Access Books on JSTOR
7,000+ Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Open Access Publishing in European Network (OAPEN)
Promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication.
Philippine E-book Hub
Largest online library of Filipiniana e-books.
This website is designed for your easy access to Filipiniana works—those that are:
1 - printed in the Philippines.
2 - about the Philippines.
3 - written by Filipinos.

Why OER is important?

Finding Journals

AERA Open
AERA Open is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal published by the American Educational Research Association (AERA). With an emphasis on rapid review and dissemination, AERA Open aims to advance knowledge related to education and learning through rigorous empirical and theoretical study, conducted in a wide range of academic disciplines.
Current Issues in Education
is an open access, peer-reviewed academic education journal produced by doctoral students at the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College of Arizona State University.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Hindawi Education Research Journal
Education Research International is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that considers scholarly, research-based articles on all aspects of education.
Journal of Higher Education Policy And Leadership Studies
ournal of Higher Education Policy And Leadership Studies (JHEPALS) provides an outstanding opportunity to disseminate the most recent and novel research findings in the realm of Higher Education, Policy, and Leadership.
Open Education Studies
Open Education Studies is an international peer-reviewed Open Access journal that publishes original and relevant articles in all fields of education research. Its coverage encompasses all forms of teaching and learning at all levels, from early childhood development to lifelong learning.
Philippine E-Journals
The Philippine E-Journals is an expanding collection of academic journals that are made accessible globally through a single Web-based platform.

Finding Repositories

Animo Repository
The Animo Repository is a digital repository of scholarly and creative works of the faculty, students, and researchers of the De La Salle University. It also hosts digital archival contents, including university events and photo diaries.
Bahandian: CPU Institutional Repository
BAHÁNDÌAN is the institutional repository of the Central Philippine University for the management, dissemination, and preservation of digital materials that represent the scholarly work of the academic community and its affiliates and their faculty members and students.
Open DOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. We host repositories that provide free, open access to academic outputs and resources. Each repository record within OpenDOAR has been carefully reviewed and processed by a member of our editorial team which enables us to offer a trusted service for the community.
Philippine E-Journals
Philippine E-Journals is an online bibliographic database & repository of academic journals in different disciplines from various resources.
UP Baguio Open Digital Repository
Herein are the completed researches, creative work and publications of the faculty of the College of Arts and Communication, College of Science, and College of Social Sciences. The database contains the abstracts and bibliographic information on academic and creative work on various topics in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Finding Databases

Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources.
Internet Archive A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Internet Movie Database Information on over a million movies and television programs, and more than 2.5 million people associated with the motion picture industry, including actors, producers, directors, screenwriters, cinematographers, composers and others.
Open Research Library An aggregation of peer-reviewed, open access, scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform.
Philippine E-Journals Philippine E-Journals is an online bibliographic database & repository of academic journals in different disciplines from various resources.
World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data.

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Citation Reference Guide
This guide contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.

College of Education: OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Open Educational Resources (OER) in Education

What is OER?

Finding Books

Why OER is important?

Finding Journals

Finding Repositories

Finding Databases

Purdue Online Writing Lab